Icecrown Citadel Location:how to get to Icecrown Citadel

Icecrown Citadel is the greatest fortress of theScourge and the last bastion of the dreadedLich King. Located in the frozen wastes ofIcecrown on the continent of Northrend, the Citadel is built around the Frozen Throne that once held the spirit of Ner'zhul until he joined with Arthas Menethil to become the new Lich King. Constructed from saronite, the Citadel is inhabited by some of the strongest and vilest of the Lich King's minions - a great army of the living dead standing between their dark master and those who seek to destroy him.

Location Icecrown, Northrend
Population Unknown, Approx 250,000 (100% Undead)[1]
Government Autocracy
Race(s) Scourge
Frost vrykul
Advised level 80
Player limit 5-10-25

The Icecrown Citadel is the final raid instance in Wrath of the Lich King, and its final boss is none other than Arthas Menethil, the Lich King himself!

Similarly to the Black Temple and Mount Hyjal, players will be assisted by a special raid-only faction: the Ashen Verdict. Teleportation devices placed in various points inside the Citadel will allow raiders to quickly move around the enormous building, and Alchemist Finklestein, Ashen Verdict Quartermaster, will aid in ensuring that player armor is always at its maximum durability.

Notable Loot

Bosses in Icecrown Citadel will drop a new tier of emblems - Emblem of Frost - which can be used to purchase epic quality items and are also used with a Mark of Sanctification to purchase Tier 10 armor pieces. A new crafting reagent, Primordial Saronite, will drop from Icecrown Citadel bosses (does not drop in Normal (10-players) difficulty!) and can be used to craft end-game gear and purchase the patterns/plans for that gear. Primordial Saronite is also required as a key component for part of the legendary Shadowmourne's quest line.

Changeable Dungeon Difficulty

Raid difficulty can be selected on a encounter-specific basis while inside the dungeon, however the raid leader will have to have defeated the Lich King on Normal difficulty before unlocking the option to set an encounter to Heroic difficulty. The raid leader will be able to choose between Normal or Heroic mode for each boss prior to engaging him, allowing the raid to face bosses on varying difficulty modes without making a binding commitment that the entire raid be locked into a particular difficulty setting (such as Heroic).


  • Lord Marrowgar
  • Lady Deathwhisper
  • Icecrown Gunship Battle
  • Icecrown Gunship Battle
  • Deathbringer Saurfang
  • Festergut
  • Rotface
  • Professor Putricide
  • Blood Prince Council
  • Blood-Queen Lana'thel
  • Valithria Dreamwalker
  • Sindragosa
  • The Lich King