Wow Shattrath City Portal

Shattrath City (aka Shrattrath), or the City of Light,[1] is a major hub in Outland situated in the northwestern portion of Terokkar Forest. It is a capital-sized sanctuary city populated by ancient heroes and naaru. It is the first capital available to both sides.

Shattrath was once the largest Draenei city in Draenor, until a savage siege at the hands of the recently corrupted Orcs utterly destroyed it. Maraad is still traumatized by the atrocities that happened there.

Shattrath's ruins are maintained by the naaru known as the Sha'tar, who are centered at the Terrace of Light. Their ruler is A'dal. The lower city is flooded with refugees of all sorts from the various conflicts of Outland; naaru, draenei, blood elves, humans, orcs, high elves, dwarves, sporelings, ogres, arakkoa, goblins, ethereals, Mag'har orcs, Forsaken, trolls, gnomes, night elves, mo'arg, Broken draenei, and draenei Lost Ones can all be found in varying quantities within Shattrath. Shattrath used to have portals to all Azerothian capitals like Darnassus and Thunder Bluff, but they have disappeared in the wake of the Shattering (with the exception of the portals to Orgrimmar and Stormwind).

A player character can ally with either the Aldor or the Scryers. The Aldor are an ancient draenei priesthood working with the Sha'tar to battle the Burning Legion. The Scryers are a group of blood elves that broke away from Prince Kael'thas, and offered to assist the naaru of Shattrath. While both factions strive for a common goal, they find themselves at odds with each other for control of the city, and the naaru's favor.

Portals to Azeroth

Before the opening of Dalaran in Wrath of the Lich King, Shattrath was the central hub of player activity because of its easy access to the other capitals of Azeroth, courtesy of Khadgar. It was not uncommon to see low-level characters wandering through this city, teleported or summoned there by a mage or warlock. Nowadays, however, Shattrath is relatively quiet.

The portals were located in the Terrace of Light, in each of the four alcoves in the center structure:

  • North alcove: Alliance capitals - Darnassus, Stormwind, Ironforge
  • South alcove: Horde capitals - Thunder Bluff, Orgrimmar, The Undercity
  • East alcove: Burning Crusade capitals - The Exodar (Alliance), Silvermoon, and off to the side Stormwind City (Alliance)
  • West alcove: Sun's Reach Sanctum, Isle of Quel'Danas (Patch 2.4, after Shattered Sun Offensive: Phase 2)